latest news headlines

WBC glory in sight for TZ boxer.

Tanzania's boxing standard will be subjected to yet another test this month when professional boxer Nassib Ramadhan takes on Namibia's Paulus Ambunda in the World Boxing Council super bantamweight international title bout.

- TheCitizen - TZ

EU Could Take Korea off Tax Haven Blacklist.

The EU has told the Korean government that it could remove it from a blacklist of offshore tax havens next month if Seoul scraps tax breaks for foreign businesses. EU finance ministers upset Korea by putting it on a blacklist of 17 tax havens where it keeps company with Bahrain, Mongolia, Namibia, T...

- The Chosun Ilbo - KR

Namibia's Strange Cold War Export to East Germany.

Lucia Engombe was one of 430 Namibian refugee children shipped off to school in East Germany.

- OZY - US

How Did Korea End up on EU's Tax Haven Blacklist?.

The European Union has placed Korea among 17 countries on its blacklist of offshore tax havens alongside such far-flung island nations as Samoa and African banana republics like Namibia. Korea is the only major economy on that shameful list.The EU defines offshore tax havens as countries that charge...

- The Chosun Ilbo - KR

Namibia slams 'unjust' listing on EU tax haven blacklist.

Windhoek is the only sub-Saharan African capital named in a 17-nation list of non-EU tax havens.

- Daily Nation - KE | Namibia slams 'unjust' listing on EU tax haven blacklist.

Namibia has criticised its listing on a new European Union blacklist of tax havens as unjust and biased, blaming the status on missing a deadline to comply.

- - ZA

Korea on EU Blacklist of Offshore Tax Havens.

Korea has been included on a European Union blacklist of offshore tax havens.EU finance ministers met in Brussels and put 17 countries, including Korea, on the blacklist. Korea keeps company with Bahrain, Barbados, Mongolia, Namibia, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Tobago, Trinidad and the UAE.Late last year, t...

- The Chosun Ilbo - KR

Revealed: These 17 tax havens have just been blacklisted by the EU.

The EU today blacklisted 17 tax havens in a move that could see the jurisdictions subjected to a raft of sanctions from member states. American Samoa, Bahrain, Barbados, Grenada, Guam, South Korea, Macau, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Namibia, Palau, Panama, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia and the United Arab ...

- City AM - UK

At least five million people across southern Africa need help.

Source: UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, Regional Interagency Standing Committee, Southern Africa Country: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, World, Zambia, Zimbabwe Normal to ...

- ReliefWeb - INT